Land tax in New South Wales is imposed under section 7 of the Land Tax Management Act 1965 (NSW). Under section 8 of the Taxation Administration Act 1996 (NSW) the Chief commissioner has power to make assessments in relation to taxation matters. 

The land tax threshold in New South Wales is as follows:

 Tax Year Threshold   Rate
 2015 $432,000   $100 plus 1.6% up to the premium threshold
 2015 $2,641,000  $35,444 for the first $2,641,000 then 2% over that