Mortgage Duty

Mortgage Duty in different regions of Australia.


Under section 247A of the Duties Act 2001 (Qld), mortgage duty has been abolished from 1 July 2008.

New South Wales

Duty on mortgages was abolished from 1 July 2016.


Under section 148A of the Duties Act 2000 (Vic), duty on mortgages has been abolished from 1 July 2004.

Advances, or further advances that occur on or after 1 July 2004 on mortgages executed before that date, are also not subject to duty.


Mortgage duty has been abolished in Tasmania from 1 July 2007.

South Australia

In South Australia, under section 104 of the Stamp Duties Act 1923 (SA) mortgage duty was abolished from 1 July 2009.

A mortgage dated on or after 1 July 2009 can be registered at the Land Titles Office unstamped.

A caveat which refers to another document, eg an agreement, charge etc, is liable to mortgage duty if that document is dated prior to 1 July 2009.

Western Australia

Mortgage duty has been abolished in Western Australia from 1 July 2008.

Northern Territory

The Northern Territory does not levy stamp duty on mortgages.

Australian Capital Territory

On 18 August 2003 the ACT Government decided not to proceed with the introduction of mortgage duty in the ACT.

In the ACT, stamp duty is not imposed on mortgages or the discharge of mortgages where customers are transferring loans to another bank.

Scroll to Top